Marshall County, Virginia

In 1832, the Virginia Commonwealth asked Ohio County's citizens to select a county seat, build a courthouse and begin the task of organizing county government. A citizen's commission selected Elizabethtown (now Moundsville), much to the dismay of the northern county fathers. After much controversy, the Virginia General Assembly decreed a new county be formed from the southern portion of Ohio County ... and on 12 March 1835, Marshall County was formed, named in honor of the Chief Justice of United States Supreme Court, John Marshall.

However, both Ohio and Marshall counties were in that part of western Virginia that seceded and gained statehood on 20 June 1863 as West Virginia.