Marietta, Washington County, Ohio

1787 - Congress passed an ordinance on 13 Jul 1787 creating the Northwest Territory that included much of what are today Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin.

1788 - The first permanent settlement made under the Ordinance of 1787 was at Marietta. Washington County was organized as an original county.

[Provided by: Summit County Chapter, Ohio Genealogical Society, PO Box 2232, Akron, OH 44309-2232. E-mail: . Compiled by: Marlene Diefendorf, September 1997. Online: , last modified January 14, 2000. Copyright 2000.]